ok
Horse Motels International
       

Worldwide horse motel directory for the traveling equestrian


        Home         List With Us        Payment Options        Check Weather          Related Sites

Oregon Comments

Flying L Ranch
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 15 0 0 24 hour monitoring 15 0 0
Friendliness of host 15 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 15 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 15 0 0 Facilities as represented 15 0 0
Security of facilities 15 0 0 Overall satisfaction 15 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 15 0 0 Total Scores 135 0 0
Comments: (3/12/05) - "Very nice place to stay. My horse was very relaxed, comfortable and happy there. We were too! I highly recommend staying there.Very nice folks. I would like to express my gratitude to Leslie for opening her facilities to us weary traveling folks. Thank You for the great stay. GOD BLESS ALL!". . .(5/22/05) - "We stayed in the Groom's Cottage and were very close to our horse so that we could keep an eye on him. Leslie was a very gracious host and we were very comfortable. We would stay there again.". . .(5/24/05) - "A beautiful ranch setting with an excellent owner running the place. A great stop on the I-5 Corridor.". . .(10/25/05) - "Leslie is very helpful, very close to I-5, hotels, and good food. The Chicken Coop was very small and very adorable, able to have your horses right outside. It was noisy from the freeway if you plan to sleep there in your truck!". . .(2/1/06) - "Very gracious hostess. Facilities as described. This was our first experience with something like this and it was all good. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you.. . .(4/30/06) - "Leslie, was great!!! horses had nice big pasture for turn out on arrival. After 3 days in a trailer they were in heaven. Facility is easy to access from Highway and close to hotels. Excellent Mexican food!!! Would love to go back and ride the mountains.". . .(6/8/06) - "My daughter and I stayed here last year and loved being close to our two horses. The facilities are large and clean and we would return there without a second thought. Thanks Leslie - you're a lifesaver!". . .(8/10/06) - "A wonderful place to stay.". . .(9/2/06) - "My husband & I trailered north to WA from AZ in June 2006. Leslie was terrific to the weary travelers & treated my mare kindly. I recommend her place highly.". . . (10/11/07) - "What a great spot! Lesile was a wonderful host! She and her facilities were top notch and I would highly reccommend them to any travelers. She was available when we arrived, very accommodating, warm and knowledgeable. Her facility is well designed and offers both round pen and arena options for exercise. Her horses are mostly all personally bred and some of the most quiet and peaceful equines I have come across. I was able to tag along on a trail ride through the pear orchards before loading up for day two of my three day trip from Seattle to Los Angeles. It was some of the most beautiful country in the world and with more trails then one can ride in a year. I will be returning not just for a layover next time, but an intentionalized week long stay! Thanks so much Lesile!". . .(3/26/08) - "This trip was the third time I have kept my horses overnight with Leslie. I feel good about coming back here whenever we make the trip south.". . . (11/28/09) - "I always stay with Leslie on my twice yearly migration between Oregon and California. Our horses are safe and comfortable and this time we rented two rooms in the farmhouse. We were very comfortable and enjoyed Leslie's sense of humor and the "quirky" decor. Ask to see the picture of the woman wearing the sausages or the sidesaddle lady with the smoking gun." . . . (8/3/10) - "I have stayed with Leslie as well as having just my horse overnight for the last 4 years. Exceptional care for horses as well as for me. Would recommend highly.". . . (7/29/13) - "Heading home north from California, I was needing to layover near the Oregon border for the night. I was hauling my horse and was hopeful to find a horse hotel for him, but being such short notice, wasn't hopeful. I googled horse hotels in the area and found Flying L. The owner, Leslie, was warm and friendly on the phone...and had room for my guy! When we arrived, the place was even better in person and it felt wonderful knowing my horse had a safe and comfortable place to spend the night. We both rested easy. I want to HIGHLY recommend the Flying L for not only being flexible and accommodating, but for the great care my horse had during his stay. It's a very clean, neat, and adorable country place tucked off the highway, giving horse and human peace and quiet. Will definitely stay again if I'm in the area!! Thank you!"

Back to Oregon Page   Home


7
Little Creek Ranch
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 9 0 0 24 hour monitoring 9 0 0
Friendliness of host 9 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 9 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 9 0 0 Facilities as represented 9 0 0
Security of facilities 9 0 0 Overall satisfaction 9 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 9 0 0 Total Scores81 0 0
Comments: (3/7/11) - "Debbie took care of all three of my horses for 11 days. She not only moved them back & forth to pasture but when one of their turnout sheets proved to be 'not so waterproof' she waterproof sprayed it so my horse wouldn't be wet and cold. She is the kind of gal I want caring for my horses and I'm glad I found her.". . . (8/29/11) - "I've been on the road most of my life, from track to track and ranch to ranch. /This place was top drawer. Friendlier folks you will not find. And the cottages are top notch and I've been to quite a few, and my horse loved it to well rested and ready to hit the road the next morning. Thanks again Debbie and family; hope to see u again real soon . Jerry Pino, Sequim Wa.". . . (12/1/11) - "This was our first experience with staying at a horse motel and we were delighted with the accommodations and hospitality. Debbie helped us get our horse, True Blue, comfy then settled us into our cozy cottage. She helped me back up the trailer. Breakfast bagels and treats were waiting in the refrigerator. We'd been up nearly the entire previous night, so a heavenly night's sleep was a lifesaver. We were rested and ready to finish our trip. Wish we had more time to linger. A vacation here, especially with all Ashland has to offer, would be wonderful. We recommend Little Creek Ranch and Debbie's hospitality to everyone, whether you're just stopping by for a layover or staying put on vacation. Thanks so much, Debbie, for memories we'll share for a lifetime. Most sincerely, Rebecca, Steve, Kelsey and True Blue.". . . (5/24/13) - "Little Creek Ranch is a wonderful place to layover for the night. Debbie's hospitality was top notch and the stalls for the horses clean and safe. Easily navigated our 3 horse LQ in and out. There is a lovely cottage on site and hookups for LQ's. Highly recommend whether an overnight or longer stay. Debbie is an absolute delight and our horses were well cared for.". . . (9/18/13) - "Debbie hosted me and my arab gelding as I was moving him down the West Coast and Little Creek Ranch was just the ticket after a long hard day of driving. I was running behind after a flat tire and didn't get in until late at night but Debbie cheerfully waited up for us and got us settled in once we arrived. The horse facilities are better-kept than many barns I've boarded at and the human accommodations are B&B quality and the setting is spectacular. Debbie and friends even invited us along the next day for a ride on the glorious Pacific Crest Trail which is just a few miles down the road. Can't recommend Little Creek Ranch more.". . . (12/10/13) - "Debbie, thank you so much for your hospitality. Little Creek Ranch is just what I was looking for, with the big clean stall and paddock and lots of fresh water. Your horses stayed quietly near by so my mare, Ella Bay, could relax right away. She had a really good rest for just over night on my way south to a show in Rancho Murieta, CA and the same for the way back home November 18th, 2013. I definitely plan to stay at your Horse Hotel next time. Also, it was great that I could hook up my LQ trailer and stay with my horse and even check o2n her in the night…….we both appreciated the night lights. Thanks again; it was so fun getting to know you and sharing stories. Rebecca Wirth, Estacada, Oregon.". . . (2/19/14) - "Our 2 horses were in horsey heaven. Large loafing shed--lots of room to roam on the grassy pastures and loads of food and water. Our old gelding felt so relaxed he immediately laid down in the deep fresh shavings and slept the night. We were helped with flashlights and our host was amazing. We stayed in a lovely cottage. What a great place. Will stop on the way home, too.". . . (3/4/14) - "Debbie was absolutely wonderful! I pulled in at 6am and needed rest after hauling all night. She helped me promptly to get the horses secure, showed me to my adorable bunk house and I was so grateful knowing she would keep an eye on my horses while I rested. Debbie checked on them frequently, made sure they were drinking, eating she went above and beyond what she needed to do. I have alot of appreciation for her help. The stall/paddock area was wonderful and perfect for what I needed, everything was clean and Debbie was picking up and just letting me rest. Definitely a great experience. My horses were very happy there and so was I. I enjoyed the serenity and vibe of the ranch so much I decided to stay a second night! I highly recommend staying at Debbies. Kara Felix Lake Stevens, WA."

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Eastern Slope Ranch
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 4 0 1 24 hour monitoring 4 1 0
Friendliness of host 4 1 0 Proximity to food and lodging 5 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 4 0 1 Facilities as represented 5 0 0
Security of facilities 5 0 0 Overall satisfaction 4 0 1
Adequacy of stalls 5 0 0 Total Scores 40 2 3
Comments: (5/28/08) - "Wonderfull place to stay the night. Great stalls and indoor arena to let the horses run after a long road trip. We will stay here again as we travel with horses.". . . (10/10/09) - "Despite an advance visit and reservation on our part and a confirming phone call, the owners were not at the ranch nor was anyone else when we arrived. It turned out they did not arrive back on their ranch until 11:30 PM that night. We had to clear away leftover chairs and tables, a tub full of soft drinks and a boxful of donuts from a clinic held that day to access the stalls we'd been assigned. The cleanliness of the stalls was not up to our standards. The facility is a good one in a lovely setting, but these issues soured us on the place and we wouldn't return.
Editor's Comments: Following are excerpts of the horse motel owner's reply to the above customer's concerns:
. . . These clients were to arrive Sunday afternoon/evening. We received a phone call for a family emergency and had to leave, we did not have the clients cell # and could not call them. Did not expect chairs & mess in the center of the barn from the clinic, but I was not there. We had asked one of our boarders to look after things, not sure what happened. My husband did speak to them the next morning and explained. . . . As you are aware we have a very nice, clean and well respected barn with many repeat clients, this was an isolated event, and I am quite sorry it happened.
Editor's Comments again: A couple of things to consider. (On the traveler's part) - Horse motels are peoples' homes and they do a variety of things with their facility to try to "make a go" of owning horses, including long term boarding, riding lessons, horse sales, clinics, horse camps, overnight stabling, etc. The overnight boarding is not necessarily their top priority and they offer their home and facility to the traveling public as a courtesy. The owner's may have full time jobs or personal commitments that they have to tend to and may not always be available. (On the part of the horse motel owner and traveler alike) - Communication is important to success. After a long day on the road a traveler is weary and is expecting a clean, safe, convenient place to stay and to have nobody to greet them can be worrisome. Both travelers and horse motel owners should make sure to get contact information for each other so they can keep one another informed of any changes in schedules, etc.". . . (2/5/10) - "This is a very attractive and safety oriented facility with horses in mind! The accommodations are inviting to both horse and owner with super friendly staff and an obvious love of the horse. I have stayed here several times, never to be let down and have always been made to feel like my horses are family. MUCH RECOMMENDED!". . . (10/19/10) - "Warm, friendly staff. The facility was clean, safe with easy access to the interstate. Highly recommend and will stay there again!". . . (3/2/13) - " I found this facility to be of an exceptional value and the owner, Leslie, was a pleasure to work with! I am one of those "nervous nelly" horse owners - who has to worry about every little thing. Well, there was nothing to worry about here. The horses drank the fresh spring water like they had never had water before in their lives! The indoor arena provided a great place to let them stretch their legs and take a roll after the long days journey. The stalls were large - well bedded and very safe. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND this facility to anyone traveling this route looking for a safe place to lay over!"

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Territorial B&B&Barn
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 1 0 0 24 hour monitoring 1 0 0
Friendliness of host 1 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 0 1 0
Cleanliness of facilities 1 0 0 Facilities as represented 1 0 0
Security of facilities 1 0 0 Overall satisfaction 1 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 1 0 0 Total Scores 8 1 0
Comments: (10-24-13) - "Mary was very friendly, made us very comfortable. The stall for my equine was large and well bedded, and she could see but not interact with other horses, making her feel not all alone. I would definitely stay here again."

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Historic Kirchem Farm
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 2 0 0 24 hour monitoring 2 0 0
Friendliness of host 2 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 2 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 2 0 0 Facilities as represented 2 0 0
Security of facilities 2 0 0 Overall satisfaction 2 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 2 0 0 Total Scores 18 0 0
Comments: (3/5/13) - "I chose Kirchem Farm to overnight with three horses based upon location; Oregon City was the approximate half way point between Davis, CA and Vernon, BC, Canada. Cher, the co-owner, was waiting for me when I arrived. There is plenty of room for large trailers here. I had no problem maneuvering a 1-ton crew cab long box truck with 4-horse LQ gooseneck trailer attached. We unloaded the horses into a nice grassy pasture so they could stretch and relax after 10 hours in the trailer. About an hour later, I moved the horses into their overnight accommodations which consisted of open, airy shelters attached to the indoor arena. The shelters had clean shavings, automatic watering bowls, and opened into nice large corrals. After horses were tended to, I had a good dinner at the sports bar located nearby. There are several motels within a 15 minute drive, but I elected to stay at the farm. Though convenient to the I-205 freeway, Kirchem Farm is a quiet place to overnight; with wind in the trees and frogs croaking, I felt like I was back home already. The facility and fencing is safe for horses and everything here is organized and kept in immaculate condition. The friendly hosts, Cher and Reg, live within 100 yards of the barn/arena. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely visit again!". . . (3/30/14) - "This facility was wonderful; the horses could not be more comfortable and the hosts were incredibly accommodating. It made the journey south in the winter a pleasant experience; lovely people own this place. Thank you."

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Neigh-bors
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 11 0 0 24 hour monitoring 11 0 0
Friendliness of host 11 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 11 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 11 0 0 Facilities as represented 11 0 0
Security of facilities 11 0 0 Overall satisfaction 11 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 11 0 0 Total Scores 99 0 0
Comments: (7/13/02) - "Very nice set up in a residential area. Close to downtown Pendleton. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our host. The barn set-up, paddocks and guest rooms were excellent.". . .(8/26/02) - "The basement apartment was wonderful. Large area for the horses. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Neigh-bors were very accommodating, great people!". . .(9/3/02) - "EXCELLENT facility! VERY friendly hostess, safe fencing, nice paddock area. Staying here made a potentially stressful trip very confortable. Basement apartment in close proximity to horses, very confortable accommodations. Will visit again!!!". . . (11/26/02) - "I found Mary Alice to be fantastic hostess to my whole gang: humans, dogs, cats and of course a horse. . . .The stalls were exceptional and having the apartment right overhead the barn was a dream come true. If anyone is traveling thru Oregon, if need be, go out of your way and stay with Mary Alice. We are planning on our drives back to Colorado and we will stay with Mary Alice with or without a horse. Treat yourself and your animals to a wonderful place and stay with Mary Alice.". . .(8/2/04) - "My husband and I were more tired than we thought, and we called the night before to schedule an extra stop and she was more than accommodating. We got there in the middle of some kind of wind storm, but my mare was made comfortable with nice hay and my husband and I were very comfortable in the upstairs apartment. The apartment was great, thank you very much.". . .(7/31/05) - "Beatutiful accommodations for people and horses. Lots of extras. Very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay!!". . .(6/18/06) - "Beautiful facility with cozy, clean apartment. Hosts are very accommodating. Would definitely stay again. A barn that dreams are made of.". . .(10/11/08) -"We spent the night in the apartment above the barn on Oct 4, 2008. Although we arrived later than originally planned, the host was very gracious. Mary Alice was not there, but her husband helped us with everything we needed. We definitely will stop there again!! Their place is terrific!". . . (2/3/11) - "Mary Alice made me feel right at home. I would recommend Neigh-bors without hesitation.". . . (8/13/12) - "MaryAlice was a wonderful host. The cabin was beautiful, clean and even the refrigerator was stocked with necessities. It was a very welcome stay after a long journey from a colt starting clinic in Texas. My 2 yr old gelding enjoyed his stay and had plenty of room with a corral and open box stall. I could see him right below our window which was an added treat. Highly recommended and will visit again. It is located in a suburban community and the driveway is a bit steep, but we had no trouble with our 3 horse GN in tow."

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Rolling Thunder Sporthorses
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 0 0 0 24 hour monitoring 0 0 0
Friendliness of host 0 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 0 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 0 0 0 Facilities as represented 0 0 0
Security of facilities 0 0 0 Overall satisfaction 0 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 0 0 0 Total Scores 0 0 0
Comments: 

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Triple Crown Farms
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 1 1 0 24 hour monitoring 1 1 0
Friendliness of host 1 1 0 Proximity to food and lodging 2 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 2 0 0 Facilities as represented 2 0 0
Security of facilities 2 0 0 Overall satisfaction 2 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 2 0 0 Total Scores 15 3 0
Comments: (2/4/05) - "Very clean, large stalls with lots of bedding. Water available and easy trailer access with parking. Motels about 15 mins. away but good prices. We liked our stop at this beautiful facility.". . . (12/1/09) - "As horse motels go, this was pretty much a self service facility in spite of the fact that the place was HUGE. However, we felt good about the facility and would use it again if the need arises."

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Elkwood Hills Farm
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 0 0 0 24 hour monitoring 0 0 0
Friendliness of host 0 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 0 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 0 0 0 Facilities as represented 0 0 0
Security of facilities 0 0 0 Overall satisfaction 0 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 0 0 0 Total Scores 0 0 0
Comments: 

Back to Oregon Page   Home


Galloping Get A Way
Condition Positive Neutral Negative Condition Positive Neutral Negative
Host availability upon arrival 2 0 0 24 hour monitoring 1 1 0
Friendliness of host 2 0 0 Proximity to food and lodging 2 0 0
Cleanliness of facilities 2 0 0 Facilities as represented 2 0 0
Security of facilities 2 0 0 Overall satisfaction 2 0 0
Adequacy of stalls 2 0 0 Total Scores 17 1 0
Comments: (11/11/12) - "We loved the beach rides. Very nice home.". . . (3/23/13) - "We had a great time here. House was very nice and horses just out the back door."

Back to Oregon Page   Home